Happy Juneteenth!

It’s been a year since we held our first “Power to the Poets” reading, bringing together poets of color from the west coast and east coast and ushering what would be our summer of power.

As we celebrate Juneteenth National Independence Day, I also wish to honor these poets and artists—powerhouses and changemakers—who do the heavy lifting on any given day. Much respect, love and gratitude to Al Mills, Ambition The Poet Harper, Amos White, Angelique N. Zobitz, Antonio López, Poetess April J. Armstrong, Aquil Ali, Bernard Collins, Bethlehem and Sad Patrick, Cole Larry Eubanks, Dena Rod, devorah major, Elijah Pringle III, Emunah The Poetess, Erika Clay Robinson, Gentle Ramirez, Glenis Redmond, Greer Nakadegawa-Lee, Harini Krishnan, Howard Wiley, Ina Cariño, Indigo Moor, James Cagney, John Wesley Shipp, Josiah Luis Alderete, Kai Coggin, Karen Shipp, Karla Brundage, Kim Shuck, Lydia Cook, Maw Shein Win, McTate Stroman II, Melinda Luisa de Jesús, Meera Dasgupta, Octavio Quintanilla, Raymond Tyler, Shanelle Gabriel, Shikha Malaviya, Thea Matthews, Timothy Proctor, Tongo Eisen-Martin, Tony Robles, Trey Keeve, Tureeda Mikell, Tynea Smith & Venus Jones for being part of this reading series. Special thanks also to my very first co-host, Ray Tyler.

Happy Juneteenth! #abouttime

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com